North Salem Middle/High School

Morning Announcements


 Welcome to Homecoming 2014, Friday, September 19 and
Saturday September 20

Please plan to celebrate the opening of another great school year by participating in Homecoming 2014.

The festivities begin at 5 pm with the high school Dodgeball Tournament, followed by the Athletic Pep Rally at 7:30.  The annual induction to the North Salem Athletic Hall of Fame will also be a very special part of the evening.  We will light the North Salem sky with FIREWORKS in the rear of the high school at 8:30 pm.  Bring your blanket or lawn chair to watch the show.  Food and snacks will be available throughout the evening.  The excitement of athletic contests will fill the day on Saturday, September 20.

The Dodgeball Tournament is a high school event although Middle School students are invited to watch the games.  (Admission $2).  There are no other activities specifically for middle school students.  Parents please note that students cannot remain after school until the start of the events at 5 pm; there is no supervision and no activities available.  Students must take the 2:10 pm bus home on Friday.  Students are invited to return to school to join the fun at 5 pm on September 19 and again on September 20.


Fifty students at North Salem High School from the Class of 2014 and the Class of 2015 have earned the designation of AP Scholar by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Program® (AP®) Exams.

Class of 2014 members Emma Allen, Caleigh Andersen, Olivia Barnard, Reilly Cotter, Sean Devey, Cecilia Diehl, Brian Giacchetto, Victoria Holt, Samuel Lidsky, Garrett Littenberg, Taylor Pohl, Tomas Salaverria, David Schaub, Daniel Selzer Matthew Tessler Linda Wang, Stephen Wiederhorn and Class of 2015 members Emory Nager and Eliza Sullivan qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

Amanda Digiacomo, Kelly Gilbert, Matthew Powell, Kelly Wing, Stephen Winston of the Class of 2014 and Kristofer Brethower, Megan Hendrie, Conor Kelly, Joshua Levine, Daniel Lubitz, Wilson McCloy, Theresa McDonald, Chelsea Morin, Aleksandra, Stefankowski, Angelica Storino, Aine, Tuohy, Sarah Waldinger of the Class of 2015 qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.

Sixtenn students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Examinations with grades of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are Joseph Acito, Terry Beyer, Miranda Gizzo, Sara Goldstein, Cecilia Heffernan, Malavika Kalarikkal-Puthoor, Valerie McGovern, Connor Murphy from the Class of 2014.  Winners from the Class of 2015 are Thomas Brown, Joanne Carminucci, Liam Herbstritt, Patrick Loftus, Meredith Perettine, Maria Sweeney, Caroline Traynor.  

North Salem High School offers 15 AP courses including Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, English Literature, English Language, Physics, Spanish, French, Statistics, World History, European History, US History, Studio Art, and Environmental Science.


Commended Students in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program

The principal, Dr. Patricia Cyganovich, of North Salem High School, announced today that Daniel Lubitz, Patrick Loftus Kristofer Brethower and Joshua Levine have been named Commended Students in the 2015 National Merit® Scholarship Program.  A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, were presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.  Although they will not continue in the 2015 competition for National Merit Scholarships® , Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2015 competition by taking the 2013 Preliminary SAT / National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT® ).

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC.  “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.  We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”



Wilson McCloy

National Merit Scholar Semi-Finalist


Today is: Day 1 
North Salem Central School District
Thursday, October 02, 2014